This is my response to an urgent call to arms across the net and blogosphere regarding Barbara Bauer, Ph.D. the literary agent and the (very temporary) downing of AbsoluteWrite.com.
Read more of why she's a scammer here.
(This is the second time I've talked about Ms. Bauer. Read the first post here.)

As it turns out, AW was taken down late yesterday not because of technical issues, but because their host, JC-Hosting received a phone call from our friend Barbara Bauer who spouted off some B.S. about a post on AW that included her email address, and she was getting spam. (Her email address, for those who like details, is cannoliq@msn.com) Here, let me quote from Making Light:
(eta note: It's Moondancer, not shadow. And it looks like she never was a PA author. She did, however, just decide to re-start a writers' resource community. Hmmmmm)Mind, the message that quoted Bauer's e-mail address had some time ago been amended to remove that address. Furthermore, Barbara Bauer posts that exact same email address on her own website.
Stephanie had no more sense than to panic and shut down AW on an hour's notice. I'm given to understand that some of AW's message base was lost. For the record, AW was hosted at:
JC-Hosting
TotalWeb International Net Consulting
4037 Navaho Trail
Nashville TN 37211Toll Free: (877) 411-7891
Phone: (615) 469-7533
Fax: (615) 250-2430Stephanie's been known to post as “Moonshadow” at Absolute Write. The wonderful fact, for certain values of wonderful, is that Stephanie is one of PublishAmerica's authors. Some people are just not smart enough to be allowed to run loose on the Internet.
(Moondancer, you screwed up. I think your company is going to get some very bad PR over this, especially when the larger blogs start talking about your reaction. What you've done is set a very bad precedent. You may think you were put in an impossible situation, but you weren't. You were just sold a line of B.S. Lisa Spangenberg, aka Digital Medievalist said it best in the comments over at Making Light.)
For several years now, the forums on AbsoluteWrite.com, run by writer Jenna Glatzer, have been home to thousands of writers, and it is one of the largest writer-based communities on the internet. Every day, hundreds of people look to the Absolute Write forums for help and advice on many issues, including on subjects like scams. Barbara Bauer is a scammer, and the Absolute Write forum posting about her (down right now) pops up as #2 on the Google search about her.
Writersweekly.com, another forum, pops up high on the search. You can read what Barbra Bauer attempted to do to that one here.
Ms. Bauer is basically marauding through cyberspace, doing everything in her power to silence any and every entity that has anything bad to say about her. In this case, she happened to get lucky. Unfortunately for her, that swing of the club is about to fall back and smash her on the nose.
This is what I would like you to do. Whether you're a writer or not, please post on your blog about Barbara Bauer.
BarbaraBauer















20 comments:
Thanks for the post and the tag!
Thanks for the link. I can't wait to see the look on Barb's face when she Googles her name in a week or so.
great post, Matt!
Thanks for spreading the word - good karma comes back too!
Not my greatest prose, but it's up...
Great post! Let keep on spreading the word!
Great post! You've summed it up well. :D
Great work!! I'm so happy so many people are posting about this!! It's down with you, Bauer!!!
Too bad the same doesn't happen to a certain company out of Maryland...
Well done.
The extra context is valuable.
I've never personally frequented AW but know many writers who value the site tremendously. The scammers of the world have been allowed to run amuck too long. From Enron bigwigs to literary agents and all sorts in between, too many people have been shattered by scams. All I can do is say SHAME SHAME on all guilty parties involved with the AW shutdown.
Barbara Bauer told me my manuscript was wonderful and it would be published but first I had to shell out 750US for a contract and then another 500US for photocopying and copy-writing fees. This went on for four years, every year I had to re-new the contract for 750US and she kept on insisting that she was meeting with potential publishers. When I told her that I didn't want to renew, the bitch said she was going to toss my manuscript into the garbage if I didn't first send her the 750US fee within 48hrs. STAY AWAY FROM HER AND ALL AGENTS WHO ASK FOR MONEY UP-FRONT. A proper and good agent makes money when you do and therefore works day and night trying to get your work published. I found out later on from someone else, that she keeps the manuscripts in some type of storage locker, and that's where the fee of $750 goes, not for photo-copying or overseas phone calls or faxes. Someone should shut her down- she's taken advantage of struggling writers by feeding them false lies. The Better Business Bureau should investigate.
That's a great story. Waiting for more. carnival cruise fiddler Us dental insurance reviews http://www.maternity-clothes-for-tall-woman.info/internet-promotion-web-site-marketing-internet-promotion-web.html wbr online marketing http://www.internet-marketing-newsletter.info/sitepromotion.html Oxycontin pain reliever denver marketing site web bentley youth Sorority voyeur thrifty rent car charlestown Kits roof racks 2001 review s60 volvo phentermine online Car alarm instalation places in boston ma
Best regards from NY! Viagra no prescription 3-5 business days http://www.air-charter-vacations-to-mexico.info/free-trial-offers-of-lexapro.html fda review mesotherapy private practice stationery
This is very interesting site... » » »
What a great site sampras tennis fixed rate mortgage http://www.buy-viagra-7.info Financial advisor in the uk online poker tournament 20 acer f ferrari archives texas lottery past results Wet tire shine air cleaner sell timeshare Audiovox cd mp3 player Czci fiat punto ii Adderall xr 25mg order prescription Bluetooth headset canada Lipitor and cough Addendums baccarat laptop apple America bulk mailer guest book e-mail
Great article! Thanks.
Nice Blog!
Thanks for interesting article.
How about a $159 scam There really are some master con artists who specialize in deceiving people.
Post a Comment